Brilliancy prize won by Etienne Goudriaan

The jury had a tough time deciding on who gets the brilliancy prize, since there were several nice candidates. Lars Ootes was close to winning it in the last round, but failed to crown his attack.

Eventually, Anish Giri voted for Robby Kevlishvili’s brilliant defence against Jorden van Foreest. Manuel Bosboom and I voted for Etienne Goudriaan’s creative counterattack against Roland Schmaltz. So 2-1 in favour of Etienne Goudriaan, with a honorary mention for Robby Kevlishvili.

Here you find the analyses by the winner:


Roland Schmaltz and Etienne Goudriaan analysing their fascinating game

Report: Merijn van Delft


Comments are closed.